Skip navigation

Scientific Advisory Board of the Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut

Scientific Advisory Board of the Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut

According to the statutes of the FLI, the members of the Scientific Advisory Board are assigned for four years. Re-assignment for a second term is possible.

Tasks of the Scientific Advisory Board

The tasks of the Scientific Advisory Board are as follows:

  1. to provide advice to the management of the FLI with regard to research and development.
  2. to promote contact between the FLI and other national and international scientists and institutions working in the same or related scientific fields.
  3. to support the FLI in the development of its research programme taking into account the current research work of other research institutions.

Members of the 10th Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Geoffrey L. Smith, Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge, UK

Vice chair:
Dr. Noel Tordo, Antiviral Strategies Unit, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France


  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Becker, Institute of Virology, University of Marburg
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Cichutek, President of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institute, Langen
  • Prof. Dr. Thijs Kuiken, Department of Virology, ERASMUS Medical Center Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • PD Dr. habil. Cornelia C. Metges, Institute of Nutritional Physiology, Leibniz Institute for Farm Animal Biology (FBN), Dummerstorf
  • Dr. Mo Salman, Animal Population Health Institute, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Helen Sang, The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Steinhagen, Center for Infectious Disease, University of Veterinary Medicine Foundation, Hannover
  • Prof. Dr. Artur Summerfield, Institute of Virology and Immunoprophylaxis, Mittelhäusern, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Sutter, Institute for Infection Medicine and Zoonoses, LMU Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Beat Wechsler, Centre for Proper Housing of Ruminants and Pigs, Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA, Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO, Ettenhausen, Switzerland
  • PD Dr. Christiane Werckenthin, LAVES Oldenburg
  • Prof. Dr. Lothar Wieler, President of the Robert Koch Institute, Berlin